British education has achieved a worldwide reputation for excellence in quality, breadth and transferability. In common with other international schools our school follows the National Curriculum for England and Wales.

The National curriculum approaches learning in its widest sense: academic achievement is important and well-structured, but the arts, music, physical development and personal, social and moral education are also given strong emphasis. Children are encouraged to develop their potential to explore and discover the world around them, to think for themselves and form opinions, to relate to others, develop physical skills and take responsibility for their own actions, for their impact on other people, and for the natural environment. The National curriculum and educational practice also takes account of the fact that each child has individual learning needs and abilities in different areas of the curriculum.

At the Primary School, where children arrive with a range of previous educational experience, we consider this particularly important. Unlike many other national systems, children do not ‘pass’ or ‘fail’ a particular grade level. The English curriculum gives detailed overall expectations for learning at different ages but has the flexibility to ensure that children of high ability are challenged at an appropriate level, and those who find an area more difficult are supported to consolidate learning fully before moving on.

Meridian Curriculum for Pre-School and Grade 1 to Grade 12

Pre-School (Meridian Curriculum)

Curriculum (Grade 1)

Curriculum (Grade 2)

Curriculum (Grade 3)

Curriculum (Grade 4)

Curriculum (Grade 5)

Curriculum (Grade 7)

Curriculum (Grade 8)

Curriculum (Grade 9)

Curriculum (Grade 10)

Curriculum (Grade 11)

Curriculum (Grade 12)

At primary age level the National Curriculum is divided into two key stages:

Key Stage One (Key Stage One More Info) ages 5-7 (Kindergarten-First Grade)

Key Stage Two (Key Stage Two More Info) ages 7-11 (Second Grade-Fifth Grade)

Key Stage One  (pdf.)

Key Stage Two (pdf.)

At Secondary and High school the National Curriculum is divided into two key stages:

Key Stage 3,4 ( pdf.)